Special Economic Zones (SEZs) development is one of economic improvement approaches which has been prioritized by the government of the Lao People’s Democratic Republic (Lao PDR) since the beginning of economic liberalization. In 2003, the first SEZ namely Savan-Seno SEZ was established, followed by Boten Beautiful Land SEZ and other SEZs.
SEZs are expected to be one of the leading driving forces of economic development and modernization in the country. Not only it provides enabling business environment to host FDI and local private investment but will also spur cross-border cooperation with neighboring countries through offering complementary services and stimulating the creation of regional value chains.
Up to date, 12 SEZs have been developed throughout the country. Special Economic Zone Promotion and Management Office (SEZO), Ministry of Planning and Investment is tasked with overall supervision of SEZs, while provincial SEZ management authority (SEZA) in each province, where SEZ is located, is responsible for approving and facilitating business operation in each SEZ.
Northern Part
  • Boten Beautiful Land SEZ
  • Golden Triangle SEZ
  • AMATA Smart and Eco City
  • Luangprabang SEZ

Vientiane Capital

  • Saysettha Development Zone
  • Long-Thanh Vientiane SEZ
  • That Luang Lake SEZ
  • Dongphosy SEZ
  • Vientiane Capital Industrial and Trade Area (Under Ministry of Industry and Commerce)
  • Vientiane Logistic Park

Central Part

  • Thakhaek SEZ
  • Phoukhyo SEZ
  • Site A Savan-Seno SEZ
  • Site B Savan-Seno SEZ
  • Site C Savan-Seno SEZ
  • Site D Savan-Seno SEZ
  • Dansavanh Border Trade Zone

Southern Part

  • Wangtao-Phonthong Economic Development Zone
  • Champasak Lao-Service Industrial Park
  • Four Thousand Island New Area
  • Pakse-Japan SME SEZ

Quick Contact

Location Office